Low-carb pasta?

Is there such a thing as low-carb pasta?  I don’t know, but there’s something that comes pretty close: spaghetti squash.  Personally, I had never heard of spaghetti squash until my roommate made some last year.  I will admit that I was pretty skeptical about trying it back then…a vegetable that looks like pasta just didn’t sound quite right.  However, I’m now in the midst of trying to eat a low-carb diet and figured I might as well give it a shot.  It has been called a “dieter’s dream” given it’s low-calorie and low-carb qualities.  How bad can it be, right?

Can you tell that this is a picture of squash, rather than pasta?  Well, pasta lovers beware, it is a vegetable.

As it turns out, spaghetti squash is actually really good.  Who knew? It doesn’t have a strong flavor, but is a little sweet.  It has a different texture than pasta, but otherwise, is pretty darn similar.  Once you accept that it’s just not going to have the exact same taste and texture as pasta, it’s really good.

So, you might be wondering, how does one cook spaghetti squash?  Simple.  Cut it in half (this takes some real muscle) and scoop out the seeds.  Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray and put the squash cut-side down on the cookie sheet.  Bake in the oven at 350 for half an hour.  Scoop out the spaghetti-like strands.  That’s it.

I served it with some Trader Joe’s meatballs in the tomato sauce that I made.  Delicious! I feel like a pasta-traitor saying this, but I actually really enjoyed the combination of the sweet spaghetti squash and the tomato sauce in this dish.  And best of all, it was extremely low-carb.

One thought on “Low-carb pasta?

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti Squash Casserole | Contemplations and Kitchen Creations

Leave a Reply

