DIY: how to make roasted red peppers at home

With my multitude of vegetables from the farmer’s market the other day, I decided to try to make roasted red peppers myself.  Even if it turned out to be a flop, I knew that I would only be losing $1 and a little bit of time!  They actually turned out really well and I’m looking forward to using them now.

Here’s how I made them (thanks to the hazel bloom for the step-by-step instructions):

Turn on your broiler and pre-heat.  Cover a cookie sheet with aluminum foil and place your washed red peppers on the cookie sheet.

The instructions I followed said to broil the peppers for about 5 minutes until they are blackened on top and then turn them (with about a quarter turn), but it took my peppers about 15 minutes to get very black on top.  Not sure if I should have preheated the broiler longer or what, but just broil them until they are blackened on the top.

Since my last experience with a broiler ended with the broiler catching on fire (note: I was not the cook…only an innocent bystander!), I was super paranoid about the oven catching on fire every time I heard the bubbling and hissing sounds of the roasting peppers. Fortunately, there was not even a spark this time!

Once they are blackened on one side, remove the cookie sheet from the oven.  Using tongs, rotate the peppers (pretend they have 3 or 4 sides and rotate them to the next side each time).  I had a lot of difficulty with the rotating since some of the sides were very rounded and wouldn’t stay in place, but I don’t think that matters too much as long as you get as much of the peppers as you can.  After rotating, they should look something like this:

Continue broiling about 5 minutes per side until blackened on all sides.

Once done broiling, place the peppers in a mixing bowl and cover the bowl with plastic wrap.  This allows the peppers to continue steaming while they cool, making the skin easier to remove.

Next, cut out the stems and begin peeling the skins off (my pictures of this made them look pretty un-appetizing, so I will spare you from seeing them).  As you do this, remove and discard the seeds.  Do not rinse the peppers with water, as this will make them lose the flavor contained in their juices.

I placed a fine mesh strainer over my mixing bowl and allowed all of the juices from the peppers to drip down in the bowl through the strainer before removing the skins.  This keeps the seeds out of the juices, while allowing you to save the juices for when you store the peppers.

Cut up the peppers to your desired size after removing the skins and seeds.

When you’re done, store them in a jar (or tupperware if you’re like me and have taken all of your jars to the recycling) and cover them with their juices and olive oil.  From the research I’ve done, it looks like they may store well in the fridge for up to three weeks. Pretty easy, right?

5 thoughts on “DIY: how to make roasted red peppers at home

  1. Pingback: Htipiti (roasted red pepper and feta dip) | Contemplations and Kitchen Creations

Leave a Reply

