Htipiti (roasted red pepper and feta dip)

In an effort to use all of the roasted red peppers that I made, I decided to make a dish from one of my favorite restaurants in DC, Zaytinya.  I first ate this dish over the summer and absolutely loved it.  When I found the recipe online, I knew it was meant to be.  Htipiti (not sure how you pronounce that…) is a delicious roasted red pepper and feta dip that is typically eaten with pita bread.

You can find Zaytinya’s recipe here (thanks A Nesting Experience and Zaytinya for sharing the recipe).  It’s really delicious!

Here are the ingredients:

  • 4-5 roasted red peppers
  • 3 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 shallots, peeled
  • a dash of pepper (white pepper is recommended; I used black pepper)
  • 1/2 Tbsp salt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp fresh thyme, stems removed
  • 8 oz block of feta cheese
I made a half-recipe (which was plenty) and did not include shallots, since the grocery store did not sell them individually.  I also did not add olive oil since my roasted red peppers had been stored in olive oil and were dripping in it already.  To make the dip, you dice the red peppers, crumble the feta, and then just mix everything together.  It’s pretty easy and really good!
2 thoughts on “Htipiti (roasted red pepper and feta dip)

Leave a Reply

