Salsa Chicken Soup

A friend of mine loaned me her crock pot recently, so I have been on the lookout for something interesting to make with it.  I wasn’t really in the mood for beef stew, pulled pork, or any of the other usual suspects for crock pot cooking, but when I came across a recipe for “salsa chicken,” I thought that it sounded perfect.  The original recipe looked really good, but I decided to try to make it into more of a soup so that it could be eaten on its own, rather than over rice or in tacos.  In the end, I think that the recipe was a huge success!  I will definitely be making this one again (if someone wants to get me a crock pot for Christmas, that is…hint, hint).

Here’s how I made it (recipe adapted from mad tasty):

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 (16-oz) jars of your favorite salsa
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 1 can of whole kernel corn, drained
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (I used a kind that had green chilies in it and that worked really well)

Directions:

All that you have to do is layer all of the ingredients in your crock pot and then cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours.  Start with about half the salsa, then add the chicken, then layer in all of the remaining ingredients except for the rest of the salsa.  Spread the remaining salsa on top and it is ready to go!

I cooked mine on high for about an hour before turning it to low because I only had about 5 hours until dinner and my chicken had not completely defrosted.  I ended up cooking it on low for a little more than 4 hours after that. This worked very well and everything was cooked through at the end.

When there are about 20 minutes of cooking time remaining, you can open the crock pot and shred the chicken with two forks.  It should be so tender that it is practically falling apart on its own.  Then, stir it all together and let it heat for another 15-20 minutes.

In the end, it should look something like this:

Eat and enjoy!  I served it with shredded cheese on top, which I would highly recommend. This would also be really good with some tortilla chips or some sour cream!

2 thoughts on “Salsa Chicken Soup

Leave a Reply

